History of La Rochelle Université

Discover the history of La Rochelle Université, from its creation to the present day. 


1968 :

Decree n°68-483 of the 27 May 1968 established the University Technological Institute of La Rochelle (IUT).

1974 :

Opening of a branch of the Poitiers Faculty of Law (undergraduate).

80 ’s :

years of strong political commitment to the development of training facilities in La Rochelle.

80’s-90’s :

The modernisation plans of French universities: an opportunity for La Rochelle to become a university town.

November 1990 :

Publication of a Regional Plan for the planning and development of higher education (Education Officer) concluding that it was necessary to create a second university in Poitou-Charentes.

1991 :

The Comité Interministériel d’Aménagement du Territoire votes in favour of the creation of La Rochelle Université.

12 January 1992 :

Bernard Bobe was commissioned by the French Ministry of Education to set up La Rochelle Université. He was joined by Francis Allard for research, Jean-Claude Mercier for training and education and François Letellier for university life.

22 May 1992 :

First stone laying ceremony in the presence of François Mitterrand (President of the French Republic), Helmut Kohl (Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany), Michel Crépeau (Deputy and Mayor of La Rochelle), François Blaizot (President of the Charente-Maritime Departmental Council) and Jean-Pierre Raffarin (President of the Poitou-Charentes Regional Council).

Growth and Consolidation

20 January 1993 :

Decree establishing La Rochelle Université.

25 June 1993 :

Order appointing Yves Pimont as provisional administrator of La Rochelle Université. From 1993 to May 1998, La Rochelle Université operated under a derogation to the 1984 law.

First semester 1998 :

The boards elected the University’s first President: Christian Eskenazi.

September 1998 :

La Rochelle Université became a legally recognised university.

May 2003 :

The boards elected the University’s second President: Michel Pouyllau.

21 April 2008 :

The Board of Trustees elected the University’s third President: Gérard Blanchard.

1stJanuary 2009 :

The university took on the extended responsibilities and competencies provided for in the law on Liberties and Responsibilities of Universities of 10 August 2007.

16 April 2012 :

The Board of Trustees re-elected Gérard Blanchard as President of the University.

16 February 2016 :

Mathias Tranchant was appointed as provisional administrator until the election of the new President of the University on 25 April 2016.

April 2016 :

Jean-Marc Ogier elected fourth President of the University

January 2021

The Board of Trustees re-elected Jean-Marc Ogier as President of the University.